Still Life Studios

October 22, 2008

I’d like to introduce Matt Wheeler from Still Life Studios! They were here at Orange Tree to shoot Celia and Ryan’s wedding and did an amazing job. He was kind enough to share his story with us and some images from Celia and Ryan’s day.

“I am Matt Wheeler with Still Life Studios (www.StillLifeStudios.com) and I started photographing families and children for money when I was 15. At age 16 I was coerced into photographing a wedding because I had a nice camera … and probably because they figured I would be cheap. ūüôā Those people were crazy! I didn’t have backup equipment and I am not even sure I had ever been to a wedding at that point in my life. I WAS cheap but they were pleased and from then on I was a photographer of people. I photographed through college and¬†I graduated from¬†ASU with a degree in Business Economics. At the time of graduation my daughter would be born in 6 months and¬†my wife and I¬†had a short time to make the dream of Still Life Studios a reality to support our family. With her fine art background and my business background¬†our photography company¬†took off. Almost 5 years later we have become a team¬†currently with¬†8¬†fine¬†art photographers who are personable, very creative, and lot‚Äôs of fun! We specialize in Life Moments. From births and weddings to family gatherings at funerals, we capture Fine Art Moments in Life for whatever reason they show up. We hope to become photographers and friends for the life of our clients!

At the Orange Tree¬†I was able to Photograph the wedding of Ryan and Celia. My first impression was wow … they really do have a lot of bridesmaids and groomsmen – 17 total plus a flower girl and two ring bearers! As I set to work documenting the day I was amazed at how many different types of personalities I found among the group. I enjoyed working with them, making them laugh, and showing them that the photographer doesn’t have to be boring. ūüôā Ryan and Celia’s first meeting was incredible. They chose to see each other before the ceremony and have an intimate moment together completely alone. Ryan’s appearance¬†tugged at my heart strings … I could feel his excitement and emotion. As he came up to his beautiful bride with tears in his eyes, he was grateful and swept up in the moment, unafraid to show his joy.

Enjoy the images!”

“The ceremony started with¬†a bit of a brawl between the flower girl and the ring bearer over the use of a pillow. It was nice to see that it made everyone laugh. I have seen similar experiences with not so similar reactions from parents involved. ūüėÄ This one went well.”

“The reception was elaborately decorated. It is not often that I step into a room and think, “Wow, this looks amazing!”. Part of that might be that we see so many amazing places that they all become typical, as sad as that sounds. Many places are¬†¬†incredible but I wouldn’t expect anything less. Orange Tree and their staff went beyond my expectations. The up lighting, the attention to detail, everything was top notch.”

Matt, thank you so much and we’re looking forward to working with you again soon!

Leave a Reply

